Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There has been a debate for a long time whether older people enjoy their life as mush as young people. In my opinion, I agree that young people enjoy their life a lot more than older people. I feel this way for three reasons which i will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, young people are more open to trying on new things and taking risk in their lives whereas older people are more mature and hesitant ,and avoid taking risks in life. Trying new things give a adrenaline rush and makes life more enjoyable. My own experience is a compelling exam of this. My mother was very fond of amusement parks and she loved riding all the rides there. So, last year on her birthday I gifted her a ticket to one of her favorite amusement park. But, she declined it and instead told me to go because it was too risky for her to sit on the rides at such an old age. This example demonstrates that older people avoid risky thing even though they get happiness from those things and thus, they enjoy their life less as they age.

Secondly, as people age their health deteriorates and they are not as energetic as they were before. Young children still have a lot of energy do to various stuff and live life to the fullest. While, as a person ages they start to face a lot of health problem and become weak. For instance, Five year ago, My whole family went camping and there were a lot of mountains there for us to go on trekking. First day, all of us went for trekking and it was a pleasant experience, we enjoyed a lot and got to spend family time together. However, the second when we went to trekking my father and mother were not able to complete it because their joints started paining and from halfway we came back. Because of this incident our whole plan was ruined and I also didn't get to complete the trek. Thus, health problems and weakness associated with old age makes it's difficult for a person to truly enjoy life.

Thirdly, there is generation gap between older and younger people which affects the happiness of a person. Many old people follow certain norms and traditions and it is very difficult for them to change their thinking. For instance, my grandma passed away when she was only 65 and my grandpa felt very lonely. He used to be very quiet and sad all the time. At that time we had a grandma in my neighbourhood to whom my grandpa started talking to and felt alive and started being happy again. My father told them to get married and my grandpa denied it, just because he thought it was wrong thing to do. In this advanced world his thinking was still orthodox. Thus, many times old people can't expand their thinking with the advancing generation and sacrifice their own happiness and enjoyment of life.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that young people enjoy more than the older people. This is because old people don't take risk, they are not physically strong and their thinking is orthodox.