Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge

of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There has been a debate for a long time regarding what is important, a teacher who can relate with students, or who has excellent knowledge. In my opinion, I agree that how well a teacher can relate to students is more important than the knowledge about the subject taught. I feel this way for three main reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, If a student doesn't like the teacher he will also not like the subject. It the human tendency that if a person doesn't like another person then they also don't like the things done by the person they don't like. Many students like a particular subject because of the way the teacher behaves, how well on a personal level she teaches it, and how friendly she is with the students. My own experience is a compelling example of this. In my undergrad, I had a subject which was quite interesting and intrigued me. But, the teacher was very unfriendly and use to target me for no reason. So, due to the attitude of the teacher, I started to dislike the subject as I didn't feel like learning from her anymore and even found the subject boring. Thus, even though the teacher has knowledge about the subject, her unfriendliness will make the students dislike the subject and hamper their education.

Secondly, It is very important for teachers to share a friendly bond with their students. Students would not feel comfortable to ask doubts to a certain professor if they are strict and not open with the students. In order to learn a subject the student should have the freedom to ask questions and help whenever they need it and this is the responsibility of the teacher to make the bond between the teacher and student comfortable. For example, During one of my exams, I had a doubt regarding a topic and it was late at night and I had my exam the next day. So, I texted my professor for some help and she called me and explained me and cleared my doubt. I was able to text her only because I knew she will always help her students whatever maybe the situation. Thus, to help students and to make them comfortable to ask any question the teacher should have a bonding with the student.

Thirdly, the students will only have negative things to say and will disrespect the teacher if they can't relate with them. For instance, There was a strict but very intelligent professor in my undergrad. But, everyone used to say negative stuff about him because he was strict and used to punish students. Students used to even bunk his lectures and disrespect him. Hence, a student will disrespect and say bad stuff if the teacher can't relate to the students.

In conclusion, I think that the teacher's ability to relate to the students is more important than the knowledge about the subject. This is because students don't like the subjects of the teacher's they don't like, they don't feel comfortable with teachers if they don't share a bond with the teachers and students disrespect the teachers that can't relate to them.