Do you agree or disagree?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Having knowledge about various things is very important. Personally, I believe that a person should broadly have knowledge about all the academic subjects. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, Sometimes one subject needs application of concepts from another subject. There are many subjects that have concepts that complement each other. If someone have a board knowledge about academic subjects he can use the concepts from various fields more effectively. On the other hand, If you have specialized in a particualr subject you have to use that concepts only and you can't use different concepts that can enhance your application. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, I made a website. I knew about the backend part of the website and had knowledge about databases. But, to make a website I also needed to know how to design the forntend and make it attractive. I needed to know the concept of HTML and CSS. Making a website needed integration of concepts from two different subjects. I studied these subjects also so I knew these concepts. If I would have only specialized in databases, It would have been impossible for me to make a website. The above example clearly demonstrates that having a broad knowledge helps people in using various concepts of various subjects.

Secondly, Having boarder knowledge opens more career paths. When someone has knowledge about various academic subjects there are lot of job opportunities available for them in the market whereas, a person with specialization in a particular field has to apply for a job of that field only. For instance, My brother did his engineer and after that he also did MBA. As a result, he has both technical and management knowledge. Due to this, he had more job opportunities. He applied for a position of Software developer and manager at the same company and he got the job as a manager. Now, he is working in his dream company only because he studied various subjects. Whereas, his friend who did specialization in Artificial Intelligence is still struggling to get a job as not many companies have the role for that specialization. Thus, a person can be more successful in getting a job if he is knowledgeable about more subjects.

Thirdly, It helps you find your passion. When you have

knowledge about various subjects you can find what you like and dislike, which subjects interest you the most. For instance, I had a subject about fashion designing as my minor subject. I used to like that subject a lot. So, after getting a degree in finance I went to a fashion designing school to pursue my fashion degree. Now, I work with a big fashion designer. Thus, having knowledge about fashion let me find my real interest and pursue my career in the fashion industry. Hence, knowing various fields helps with finding your real interest.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that having broader knowledge about various academic subjects is more important. This is because it helps you to integrate concepts from various subjects, provides more job opportunities, and helps to find your real interest.