Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that it's more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access rather than improving public transportation. Below are three reasons to support my claims.

First of all, I believe that governments have concerns about budgets, and they will spend less money on enhancing Internet access. For instance, two years ago, the Taiwanese government planned to replace household old internet-accessing devices with new ones. The whole projects cost ten million dollars, and everyone enjoys surfing the faster internet now. On the other hand, constructing public transportation such as MRT spends roughly ten billion dollars, which is hundreds of times of budget for refining Internet access.

Secondly, governments should place emphasis on the education of the next generation. To elaborate, with technology advance, more and more professors tend to prepare the teaching material through the Internet. Once the Internet speed is improved, accessing educational sources will be more efficient for professors. Also, when students learn by themself, they usually browse some websites, such as Wikipedia, for information. As a result, students can always absorb up-to-date knowledge because of the convenience of Internet access.

Last but not least, I would argue that governments exist for increasing the economic growth of the country. In addition, the Internet is a fundamental tool in every companies, bringing profits to them. For example, Google is a globalized enterprise, so the Internet is necessary for communication between departments located in different nations. Thus, with stable and high-speed Internet, businesses can function normally. On the contrary, poor internet connection might cause companies to lose the opportunity to transact with foreign companies. Evidently, in the long run, enhancing the Internet will make countries more competitive and profitable.

In sum, I firmly claim that governments should invest money in improving Internet access other than constructing public transportation system, as the government should consider factors such as how to manage its budget, how to improve education system, and how to increase economic growth. All these can be satisfied with improving Internet access, while I am not certain constructing transportation alone can do the same.