Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

I agree. I think that governments should spend money in support of art instead of wasting money on supporting athletics. Below are three reasons to support my claim.

To begin with, governments have budget concern, and preserving art can not only saves money for the governments but also brings revenue for them. For example, several years ago, the Taiwanese government renovated The Palace Museum. Although it cost three billion dollars to redecorate the museum, the number of people visited increased ten times than before. Surprisingly, the profit brought by the museum accounts for ten percent of the Taiwanese government's annual revenue now. On the other hand, if the government spends a budget on supporting athletics to join the Olympic games, once they lose the game at the very first beginning, the money is totally wasted.

For another reason, I believe that the government should care about the mental health of citizens. Since art can comfort people and bring happiness to them, the government is responsible for supporting art. To be more specific, nowadays, many people are stressed out because of their jobs, and appreciating artwork soothe their heart and makes them relax. For instance, if a government sponsors holding free exhibits, people can appreciate the painting in the exhibitions rather than staying at home for the whole weekend. Therefore, the overall well-being of people will improve due to the arts.

Last but not least, I would argue that governments exist for helping the disadvantaged group. Also, many artists give up their dreams in order to survive. If the government can support artist, they can pursue their dream. Take my friend Amy for example, when she graduated from the department of art, she can hardly find a job because the positions related to pure art are rare in Taiwan. To survive, she ended up being a salesperson. If the government could sponsor her ten thousand every month for a year, she was more likely to find a suitable job instead of surrendering herself to the work she dislikes.

In sum, I firmly believe that governments should focus on supporting arts, instead of spending money on athletic, as governments should consider factors such as how to manage their budgets, how to improve the mental health of citizens, and how they could help those people in disadvantage. All of these can be satisfied with sponsoring arts, while I am not certain supporting athletics alone can do the same.