Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Students at school often split into two viewpoints: to learn the humanities such as history and literature or to learn natural sciences such as mathematics, chemistry, and physics. Actually, this discussion is just like the discussion about whether a person is more inclined to the left-hemisphere or right-hemisphere. This essay will include two paragraphs which represent the benefits of science and mathematics, history and literature.

First of all, science and mathematics are the fundamental basements of world’s development. Theories and laws, which students learn at school, can be applied in the real world. Furthermore, scientists use these basic rules to create great inventions as well as figure out more developmental theories. For example, a popular theory that every student should know called Pythagoras theory in maths has played a vital role in daily life; my teacher even used this law to find the most time-saving direction when she was in traffic.

Secondly, students cannot ignore the importance of history and literature now that they provide a clear lesson, especially research assessment and critical thinking. When students approach history, it is inevitable that they will confront numbers and data as well as events. Those contexts, with the help of their teacher, abet learners to know how to “treat” the database and analyze its result. Furthermore, literature upgrade ascertainers’ critical thinking while learning well-known novels and poets. Students are required to say what they think and their own lessons after analyzing a poet. To illustrate, I really love learning literature because I can raise my own thoughts of a famous literature work. I remember that I used to refute my teacher’s viewpoint of a character in a novel named “Sans Famille”.

In conclusion, science, mathematics, history, and literature are equal crucial for students since they support different facets of life: science and mathematics is the foundation of the world’s development, history and literature bring back essential skills namely research assessment and critical thinking.