Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Subjects such as art, music, and drama should be a part of every child's basic education.

It is reported that over a few decades, the proportion of students receiving arts education has shrunk drastically. However, the government should retrieve subjects like art, music, and drama because they are pieces of every child’s basement of development. I totally advocate this idea due to some rational reasons.

To begin with, arts education ameliorates children’s academic performance now that it provides a great number of essential skills. Science has proved that visual arts students can learn to enhance their spatial learning, organizational skills, visual memorization, and emotional development. Moreover, when learners ascertain the history of art through the study of other artists, they are able to reach the level of reading comprehension. For example, my sister is into painting and she admires Leonardo de Vinci, so she reads every document about Leonardo in both English and Vietnamese. Therefore, her lexical has been greatly enriched, and she can translate English articles into Vietnamese ones fluently.

Secondly, creativity is the most detectable signal at a child who fancies arts education. Unlike mathematics and science which already have laws and rules, arts subjects encourage students to comfortably manifest their viewpoints. For example, students can give hundreds of different pictures if they are required to describe their beloved country. What’s more, it does not have to be arts educations that allow students to show their creativity, a child who loves art tends to find different ways to solve a math problem by its own rather than following typical steps that were taught by teacher. As a result, children who practice arts everyday are prone to find solution easier when they meet troubles.

Finally, mature thinking and profound sympathy are benefits that arts programs could support. There are many evidences that fans of art have higher EQ than normal people now that they have natural humor or come up with touch statements that no one could think of. Furthermore, students who love music have tendency to “feel the lyrics”; they do not just listen to the beat, they notice the lyrics and try to feel the artists’ emotions. This can help them easily sympathize with people who are in need.

In short, arts education gives children indisputable advantages namely upgrading academic achievement, creativity, and mature soul.