Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, there are more competitions between cities all over the world. Every citiy want itself to thrive and develop well. In this case, the financial support from governments is important to their cities, especially their major cities.

First, we know that a major city usually can represent a contry. For example, when we talk about the United States, most of people will think about New York City, which is one of the major cities in America and represents America dreams. New York City generates many American cultural, such as liberty and so on. In this case, this city usually have billions of visitors every year who want to take a look at the cultural traditions of the United States, and if this city is supported well by the government, all the travellers will like this city because of its prosperity.

Besides, since a major city is the orgin of a nation's culture and traditions, it is of great importance to support and make sure it can thrive. People in this nation can not withstand that their orgin of this country is in a bad condition due to lack of financial support, and if the government let it happens, the government will hurt its people's heart. For example, Xian is the orgin of Chinese culture, there were six dynasties who setted Xian as their capital, and even the most powerful dynest all over Chinese history, the Tang dynasty. People in China regrads it as the orgin of Chinese culture, and lots of people love it. If the Chinese government does not support Xian financially and let it decline, Chinese government will lost their support from their people.

At last, ensuring the major cities to thrive is still Important for a country to develop. We can imagine that there is a country who does not have a major city. In this country, people live in small towns, and small towns usually can not provide its people wich many job opportunitie. As a result, even if this country spends lot of money on education, it can not have many highly-educated people. Those people will find that it's hard for them to find suitable jobs in their own country since a small town usually does have many advanced industries. Then, they will move to other countries to look for jobs. In this case, without a major city, a nation can not develop well without help fo highly-educated people.

In conclusion, I want to states that major cities is of great importance for a nation due to their essential role in a nation.