Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I have once bought a stick tape, which is claimed by the advertisement that it can stop the leak of the water pipe immediately. However, the actual product cannot even stick on a plastic pipe. That is, I believe all products look better on commercial than they actually do base on my experience. I will elaborate on this statement by the two following ideas.

At the very beginning, advertisements exaggerate the good part and try to hide the flaws of their product. In other words, viewers are often fascinated by the good quality and function of the goods by the eyes-catching advertisement, and neglect to see the downsidesof the product. The refrigerator my father bought is a good example in case. He bought a refrigerator when he saw it on a TV commercial. The selling point of this freezer is that it can freeze your drink within 5 minutes. Although this freezer can freeze my dad’s beer in five minutes, it has to use twice the electricity power to manage its function. At last, my dad has to switch to a more power-saving refrigerator to cost down the electricity bills. In this case, I believe products look better on advertisements since you cannot see the bad parts of it.

In addition, companies hired celebrities to be part of their commercial which makes people believe the product has decent quality since their idols are using it. Try to recall the advertisements you have seen, nearly every one of them has a celebrity in it. For example, the famous basketball player Jeremy Lin has a commercial about an energy drink. This makes people think he might also consume this drink when he is playing in the court, so one has to buy this drink in order to increase their performance on the court. However, this idea is nonsense. Celebrities recommend products to fans is just because they can earn money by through this process, not because the product is extremely handy. People always think products are so good when the celebrity used it. Sadly, that is not true. Products are just made to look good on commercials.

All in all, products are not as good as they appear on advertisements since companies will only points out the bright side of their product and hired celebrities to convince the products are used by people even like them, which navigates people to believe the goods are good.