Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are one of the most important parts of our lives that make our daily life more interesting. Some people say the ability to maintaining a small group of friends is making them happier than the ability to connect with different people. However, I beg to differ since being able to open up to new things or expanding one’s social life is always highly associated to be a happy person. There are several reasons why I think the ability to make new friends at no difficulty is more important for happiness.

At the very beginning, to make new friends easily, you have to be an open-minded person to accept the difference between everyone. Being an open-minded person, it is less likely to be tackled down by the frustration in life since they are always optimistic. My open minded cousin is a great example in point, he is so good at making friends. Once his robot design got turned down by the contest’s referee. He was not sad at all. Besides, he is grateful for the referee for pointing out the flaws of his design. That is, the characteristic of being open-minded can get you not only a bunch of friends but also a happier life.

Secondly, to make many new friends, you have to possess the courage to try new things, and try new things always make one’s life more interesting. I used to be a person who thinks stinky tofu is not a delicious dish because I never got the braveness to try food that I am not familiar to. I changed my mind until I step out of my comfort zone and give it a shot. It is so delicious that I believe whenever I eat stinky tofu, my life is happier. For this reason, I believe life is brighter when you got the ability to try new things which also allows you to make new friends.

All in all, though the ability to maintain an old connection between your acquaintance is also important to make your life delightful, I believe the ability to make new friends, such as being an open-minded person or eager to try new things can raise the level of your happiness.