Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of advertisements. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely say commercials make goods look better than they appear to be. It is my firm belief that advertisements are embellishing the products for a number of reasons.

To begin with, advertisements often mislead people by its’ eye-catching commercial. To be more specific, most of the advertisements tend to emphasize the good sides of their products and turn a black eye to their downsides. What is worse, viewers of the commercial often lack the wisdom to distinguish what kind of product is good for them and what is bad to them potentially. I have to admit my opinion has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, back in the days, I used to be a chubby boy. Once I saw a fat cutting pill being promoted on the television, not only did I pay it right away, but I also book the amount of doses that I can take it for years. It is the fancy effect that is claimed on its promotion, that I decided to take it, in order to lose weight. However, the consequence of taking uncertificated pills comes right away, the side effect of the pills was killing me. Accordingly, if it were not the fancy commercials that mislead me, I would not have hurt my kidney so bad, that I still have severe sequelae today.

Secondly, sometimes manufacturers ask people to act as their users to help them advertising. This will even be more misleading than exaggerating about the utility of their products since customers tend to believe in whom they share a common point. Drawing on my friend’s experience, he bought a pair of sneaker that is claimed by a soccer player to possess the ability to improve performance on the court. However, it turns out, the manufacture is a fraud, not only did not the sneaker improves his performance, but also the soccer player was not the user of the brand. Moreover, the shoes’ quality is too bad to cost that much money. If it were not a fake user commercial, my friend could save a good amount of money buying a useless product.

All in all, in light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that advertisements are misleading and make people feel better about the products. In the reason that many commercials exaggerate their benefits and make fake their users.