Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only movies that can teach us something about real life are worth watching.

With the development of the film industry, there is an increasing number of people who choose to go to the cinema at weekends. As for the preference of the genre of movies, some people believe that only movies that can teach us something about real life are worth watching while others disagree. In my opinion, I believe it is favorable to watch various genres rather than realistic ones solely. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, movies can benefit us by adding color to our daily life and relieving our pressure after heavy work, making us prepared for another day. When people watch science fictions and romantic movies, they will likely to be absorbed in the twisted plots, forgetting the obstacles in their life. My own experience is a compelling model of that. Faced with the pressure of the National College Entrance Exam, I was too stressful to have sufficient sleep when I was in high school. In order to escape from the daunting environment, I went to the cinema every Saturday, where I watched large amounts of popcorn movies like Star War, Iron Man, and Ip Man. I immersed myself in the virtual world and enjoyed experiencing the adventure of characters in those movies. Every time I walked out the cinema, I felt relaxed and energetic enough to face the seemingly endless exams and assignments in school. This example shows that watching movies which are unrelated to real life helps people bring back their vims. If we only concentrate on realistic movies, the disappointing endings and the darkness of the society reflected in those movies may bring us some emotional problems.

Besides, watching movies of various genres can stimulate our imagination, which is conducive to the all-round development of people. Scientists may be inspired by some concept in scientific fictions and improve the techonology accordingly. Children can enhance their sense of colour and get access to a new world when watching cartoon movies. For example, the famous Disney movie, Frozen, is the product of plenty of professional painters. The beauty of the virtual world impressed the audience once released, helping children to establish a concept of beauty. If we had deprived children the opportunity to watch such splendid movies, they would have missed a meaningful experience.

We cannot deny the fact that people can absorb knowledge from realistic movies. In some conditions, realistic movies can even boost the development of society in that they reveal some drawbacks of our social system. However, the advantages of other movies should never be ignored. They play a significant role in the film history, the culture industry, and people’s mental life.

Based on the reasons stated above, I can safely conclude that it is beneficial to watch movies which do not emphasize reflecting real life because these movies benefit people in many aspects. The most recommended way is to be open to options as many as possible.