Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">There is no doubt that people need to eat to keep lives every day; however, how much do we know about the food we eat in? As far as I am concerned, the food we eat nowadays is far worse for our health than the counterpart in the past for the following reasons.

To begin with, more pesticides and chemical fertilizers are used in our food today, for the purpose of increasing productivity. On the contrary, people used natural animal droppings as fertilizers to cultivate fruits, vegetables, and grains in the past. According to research from Beijing University, having vegetables fertilized by pesticides for a long time will increase the risk of stomach cancer. Thus, the previous food is much healthier than today. I still remember when I was a 6-year-old girl living in the countryside with my grandparents; my grandparents had a small yard planted various kinds of vegetables, such as tomatoes and cucumbers, without using any chemical substance. My grandparents only eat these vegetables planted by themselves and both have lived long life expectancies.

Moreover, people now are prone to eat out or order the take-out food for they are tied up with their busy jobs and business. While it will be more convenient for modern people, the truth is that meals from the food stalls or restaurants are not healthy and unsanitary enough. As we know, to make the normal food materials more delicious and tempting, cooks will use deep oil and more salts or use unhealthy methods to cook them, such as frying and baking. And there is another possibility that instead of changing the cooking oil frequently, the cook keeps using the same bottle of oil for the whole day, so they can save some money from the oil. In contrast, The people used to cook and eat at home; they even ate home-made foods when they went out.

Granted, people are able to eat various food with more nutrients than before, such as the flax, chia seeds and some kinds of deep-sea fish. These foods with more proteins or dietary fibers and less fat are just coming into our views and people can definitely benefit from them. However, we can not ignore the truth that we do live in an era with more unhealthy food than healthy ones.