Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's development era, human thinking has advanced and is far different from the past which indicates that many young people nowadays have become more independent. I strongly advocate the thesis that the young generation can make decisions about their own lives and do not need to be based on their parents' opinion.

To begin with, parents might not be the one who understands children except themselves. Children can understand clearly what they want and their ability to do something. This means that they can easily choose what thing is suitable for them. For example, many households in VietNam still have the traditional from time immemorial; parents always force their children to go to the top university to study. Understand that parents just want the best thing for their children; however, parents should know about their children's capability in order to suggest to them the best direction for their future school or career. Through this situation, people might see, many cases from the past, old generation have a backward in their way of thinking.

Furthermore, the young generation at the moment can study in a better condition compared to the past. Young people who have a good living condition can have wide thinking so that they not only choose the suitable selection but also choose the best way to help their family. I am the one who luckily lives in a good family; however, I do not depends on the family and always tries to help the family in everything. For instance, I always try to lower the tuition fee by regist in getting the scholarship. This implies that, even when I do not depend too much on parents, I still have a good choice for my self which is benefits for my family either.

All things considered, I believe young generation always want to choose the things they want even they will receive the consequences if that selection is false.