Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I totally agree, I feel that nowadays people has being talking fewer each other. Because, they are so busy watching: their favorite novel, maybe a movie, or even a TV newscast. That paying attention in what the “real people” are saying, it is not attractive anymore.

However, this lack of interest of the people to communicate, has caught the attention of researchers around the world. For instance, I was watching a Ted talk made by a Psychologist, she is showing the results of her research. She was trying to understood what happened that, people are spending their free time watching TV instead outcoming with friends and family. The short conclusion made by her, was that: this lack of communication has leading people to diseases like depression. She also mentions that, likely television was the guilty for this behaviour shift.

Unfortunately, kids are also being affected by this absence of communication. Some parents just put their children in front of TV, sometimes during all day and leave a kid being cared by television. For example, Daniel is the son of my best friend, he is 5 and got used spend a full-time watching TV. Currently, remove him from the front of television, could be a nightmare. As a result, he does not know exactly, how to play with other kids, how to start a conversation etc. This instinctive behaviour is being lost.

Currently, even the older people has being affected in a wrong way by television. An example of this is my mother A couple of days ago, I was talking with her about my first day at work. I was discussing the qualities of the new fellowship, how friendly my colleges has being, about a healthy food that I eat on lunch time etc. Actually, I was excited describing my new routine. Until, out of the blue, my mom starts talking about a character of the novel that she was watching. And I said: - Mom, Are you not paying attention on me?? Obviously, the answer was no! Because she was very focus by watching TV, that just do not realize that I was talking with her. Of course, I felt upset about it and unfortunately, this was not the first time that happened.

For those reasons, I feel that, our current society is getting used to talk less and watch more. Nevertheless, we need to struggle with this behavior, to change them while there is time.