Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People communicate with each other less than in the past because of the popularity of television. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

I totally agree. I feel that nowadays people are talking with each other less because they are so busy watching their favorite dramas, movies, or even TV newscasts. Paying attention to what “real people” are saying is not cool anymore.

This lack of interest people have in communicating with each other has caught the attention of researchers around the world. For instance, I was watching a Ted talk made by a Psychologist who was showing the results of her research. She was trying to understand what happened to make people spend their free time watching TV instead of interacting with friends and family. The short conclusion she made was that this lack of communication has lead people to diseases like depression. She also mentions that it is likely television is guilty for this behavioural shift.

Unfortunately, kids are also being affected by this absence of communication. Some parents just put their children in front of the TV, sometimes for an entire day, and leave their kid in the care of the television. For example, Daniel is my best friend's son. He is 5 and got used to spending all his time watching TV. Now, if you remove him from in front of the television, it could be a nightmare. As a result, he does not know exactly how to play with other kids, how to start a conversation, etc. This instinctive behavior is being lost.

Currently, even older people have been affected negatively by television. An example of this is my mother. A couple of days ago, I was talking with her about my first day at work. I was discussing the qualities of the new fellowship, how friendly my colleges have been, about healthy food that I eat at lunch, etc. Actually, I was excited describing my new routine. Until, out of the blue, my mom starts talking about a character of the drama that she was watching. And I said "Mom, are you not paying attention to me??" Obviously, the answer was no! She was so focused on watching TV, that she simply did not realize that I was talking to her. Of course, I felt upset about it and unfortunately, this was not the first time that happened.

For those reasons, I feel that, our society is getting used to talk less and watch more. But, we need to struggle with this behavior. Changing them while is possible.