Do you agree or disagree with the following statement, Professional athletes, such football and basketball player, do not deserve the high salaries that they are paid.

It is universally accepted that some famous athletes receive astronomical salaries and are among the wealthiest people in the world. This issue triggers a controversial argument whether it is justice for giving this huge amount of money for a person just for playing football or basketball. The public attitude toward this matter is divided into two parts. Some people advocate athletes, whereas others take the opposite point of view. The following essay takes an elaborating look at both opinions to reach a logical conclusion.

It goes without saying that, being a professional athlete is not a simple work and requires arduous endeavor. Considering this in mind, supporting athletes seems rational; because there is a handful of such persons which bear the extraordinary capability to reach this level and can exhibit pure skills. Moreover, these individuals become retired sooner, so they should have a safe financial resource to guarantee their future and without stress could focus on their practices. Besides these factors, these outstanding people are idols of every society that public heart beat for them and mutually the athletes do their best to glorify the reputation of their nation as well as bring prestige and credit. Indeed, the celebrities are the treasure of a nation which could be effective in poverty alleviation, sexual equality, spreading knowledge and combating drug trafficking through implementing athletic culture. Furthermore, sportsmen tolerate the hard practice, experience lots of stress, have less leisure time and above all they spend a long time far from family.

Conversely, the second group has its own reasons and repudiates the aforementioned arguments. From their perspective, the rate of some athletes yearly income is more than thousands of time higher than a professor with a great H-index. A research done on the Sydney University shows that a mid-level NBA player has revenue equal with 20 expert physicians. They believe that it is far from the nature of sport and athletic moral and it turns to a kind of business which impose a negative effect on the public mind. Based on their consideration, athletes rather than being an idol or national pride are a kind of businessman which obsessed with financial temptation. Indeed, their positive and symbolic characters turned to the destructive impression.

To wrap it up, according to the aforesaid materials we can reach a conclusive conclusion that, professional athletes deserve to have staggering earning to some normal point. In return, sportsmen should promise themselves not to sacrifice their nation's interest to their own interest.