Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so government should offer internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Technology has become an integral part of our lives. The world has come closer and distances have shortened owing to the advent of the internet. Therefore, in my opinion the internet should be provided free of cost to every citizen.

First of all, the internet has changed the way we lived our lives. Not only has it become a part of our everyday lives, but has also transformed the business world as well as the education system. With the classrooms going online and books becoming digitalized, the need for allocating a budget for school infrastructure has taken a sideline. Students in today's world have become acquainted with advanced technology and are productively using it to access a deluge of information. Laptops and Mobile phones have replaced books and a myriad of online learning applications are easily available through a click of the finger. In this scenario, imposing taxes on the internet will deprive the children to avail information and will disenfranchise them from getting up-to-date education online. For instance, in a remote valley in the North of Pakistan called Shimshal students who were forced to take online classes during the pandemic break were at a huge disadvantage as there was no internet availability. Students complained and wrote to the authorities but no action was taken. This put the students in a vulnerable position as no internet access meant missing out on important classes.

Furthermore, the internet is used by people of all age brackets. People use the internet for both education and entertainment purposes. Nowadays, online shopping has become easier as it cuts down the cost of travel expenditure spent on making a trip to the malls. People shop online for a wide variety of things like clothes, groceries, appliances, etc. Easy accessibility and that too at free cost will improve the online shopping experience and in turn accelerate the economy of the country.

In conclusion, it is the responsibility of the government to provide the people uninterrupted access to the internet at free cost and should give it as much importance as other frontiers like infrastructure.