funds to improve classes and libraries or on sports and extracurricular activities?

Extracurricular activities are a medium to help shape a well-rounded personality of an individual. It is thus, incumbent on the universities to provide opportunities to students outside of the four walls of a classroom to help them grow and find their niche in the competitive world that awaits them. One way of ensuring this is by allocation of funds to sports and other extracurricular events.

Quality education provision is the primary mandate of any institute. Around the world, universities maintain an environment that is conducive to learning by finding creative ways to increase the students' interest toward studies. They spent exorbitant amounts of money to build state-of-the-art libraries with latest technologically advanced installments to indulge the students. A key aspect of giving the students' a space to take a breather and relax amidst the overwhelming pressure of studies is often however, neglected. Sports grounds, drama theatres, halls for social events should be build instead of repeatedly revamping the libraries and conference rooms, to provide an outlet for students to release their stress. Researches have shown that universities that promote a balance between curricular and extracurricular activities, have students with a higher rate of success in real life.

Simultaneously, universities should allot equal financial support to education and sports to provide the students the creative freedom to explore their capabilities outside of the classroom. Students should embark on different ventures and experiment their luck elsewhere, too. Taking part in social events might help them understand their interests in other realms. For example, up till my Bachelor's degree, I was unaware of my managerial prowess. It was during my university, when I took part in organizing a fund-raising event, that i realised how good I was at logistics and event management. Had there been no opportunity to dabble in such an event, my skills would not have manifested.

In conclusion, libraries and classes are as important in determining a students' future as are extracurricular activities. Hence, it is only logical to distribute funds equally in order to maintain a healthy equilibrium.