should parents forbid their children to own smart phones?

Mobile Phones have instantly become a necessity without which life seems improbable. They are valuable gadgets that provide ease of communication and access to content, both informative and entertaining. Some parents, however, do not allow their children to possess a smartphone. I believe it is unjust to deprive young children of this handy device for reasons I will discuss in subsequent paragraphs.

With the world condensing into a global village and people coming closer through the power of the internet, people must make the best of this opportunity to connect and widen their networking experiences. Giving children mobile phones will not only make communication with families easier, but it will also allow them to interact with people around the globe. Furthermore, this will help them broaden their networking experiences and learn about the diverse cultures, unique standards of living, and socio-political atmosphere in their regions. For instance, my 15-year-old niece, who has a penchant for photography, used her phone as a tool to link up with a diaspora of artists who share the same creative inclinations through the Instagram application on her phone. It helped her to become cognizant of new photography techniques and share her work with others. This shows the importance of smartphones and why parents should allow their children to use this device.

Moreover, cell phones with internet access have now become a necessary commodity, especially for children. The emergence of the recent Covid pandemic transformed the conventional education system and changed the in-person teaching approach to one delivered online through the internet. It has, thus, become vital to give children phones to access online classes. Portable mobile phones make it possible for children to take their classes and submit their assignments on time. For example, my friend's daughter did not own a mobile phone had to rely on her mother's phone to access the classes. Since my friend also used the phone to attend meetings, their timings clashed, resulting in a build-up of assignments for her daughter. It was an eye-opener for my friend as she realized the importance of mobile phones in getting an education. Subsequently, she got her daughter a cell phone.

To sum up, I strongly advocate parents to permit their children to own mobile phones as it is a resource for them and a tool of immense significance in shaping their future.