Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students, the ability to listen well is just as important as the ability to read well. Use specific

reasons and example

In the contemporary world , students has became multitalented and they have good knowledge in most of the aspects. As the topic ask about equal importance than apart of just reading and listening many things are important or development in the career. So, I agree that ability to listen well is just as important as the ability to read. I feel this for several reasons which I will explore in the below paragraphs.

To begin with, I believe listening and reading are both integral part for the understanding of topic. When we were young we hardly read anything, in fact we use to listen words, sentences from elder people. So, if I talk about the language development then its first step is listening and it lead from listening to reading and then speaking. This how both are interrelated , if child focuses only on one aspect it would lead to weak grasp on language development. For example, when I was preparing for TOEFL, I used to do reading section more than the listening but then my supervisor taught me that if I focus on one section and my other gets weak. He further explained me the importance of listening, like it will help me in pronounciation, pace of speaking, sentence formation, proper breaks in between the sentences and that really helped me a lot in my practice test, however earlier I always faced problem in pronounciation and that lowered my score.

Another reason I feel is that reading only make the person introvert. When people only read books they remain involve in their book whereas when people listen to lecture they will to explain their thoughts. I had no clue how this work but this happens most of the time. So to avoid such results people now read book and use headphone where they learn things in both way. Listening habit is actually important because it work in subconscious way where people retain main topic back of the mind without concentrating much. One another benefit people get is that listening habit helps a lot in viva exam. For example when I was in college, and I was very lazy at time and really struggle a lot to read books. So , I recorded all the lectures and whenever I got time I used to play and those lectures I remember till date. that improved my listening habit and i could do better both in reading and listening.

To put it in a nutshell, listening and reading both are equally important for better understanding and learning.