Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? : Students can get as many benefits from organization or club activities as they can get from their academic studies.

In civilized societies, time efficiency has been one of the most crucial issues in human beings’ lives. Beyond any doubt, this concern is even more monumental for students since they are getting prepared for the real life, the need for carrying out activities with most benefits and advantages is inevitable. An unavoidable question which always has been the topic of controversy and has brought about heated debates is whether side works such as organization and club activities can generate as many benefits for students as the academic studies can. Both adherents and opponents provide substantial reasons for the option they support. From my vantage point, for students, organization and club activities are as beneficial as academic studies. Although some might find this controversial, in what follows, I will elaborate on my perspective.

First of all, it is significant to be mentioned that some skills important for the future success and prosperity are not taught in academic context. It is unquestionable that learning such other skills as organizational discipline, leadership, and so on are as important as academic skills, and they will dramatically improve students’ chance for a flourishing career path. Although the silver lining is to acquire good grades and graduating with an impressive academic resume, concentrating only on academic studies will be deficient for future prosperity; and this is for extremely momentous importance of other skills which I alluded to.

Moreover, practical experiences play a monumental role in success in the real world. Those experiences cannot be achieved in books and academic studies; and we are all aware how crucial they are. According to a survey conducted in my country, Iran, back in 2013, 75 percent of people who had jobs in thriving and prosperous businesses admitted that they had participated in organization activities during their educations. A balance between academic studies and other beneficial activities will provide students with an outstanding opportunity to earn invaluable experiences as well as success in studies.

The last but not least is that in this modern world being in high spirit is considerably difficult than any other time. Stresses related to academic responsibilities, multi-tasking, and so on, all in all have brought about a person to be susceptible to many mental diseases. Under this situation, club activities will relieve the pressure and stress. To exemplify, take my personal experience as a real case. In the third year of my education at university, I encountered an unbearable pressure in my studies and term papers. These led me to a drastic/acute depression. Following my GP’s prescription to have some club activities once or twice a week, I not only recovered, but also acquired better grades in my course.

To wrap up, contrary beliefs might be tossed around about whether organization and club activities can generate as many benefits for students as the academic studies can. I personally believe that pressures and stresses in the modern world, and besides/as well as the trend away from relying only on academic degrees toward practical skills have brought about a necessary need for students to participate in activities aside from academic studies. As a matter of fact, there are some other reasons and examples that can be invoked to back up my perspective, but let’s suffice to this.