Should young people try different jobs before they decide on their long term job or career

When coming to career matters, the debate over whether people should take various jobs before they have a stable career is still fierce. Some may assert that taking several different positions is a waste of time and that young people should decide on a long-run career based on their expertise and strength. However, I hold this view differently. I believe young people should have several different work experiences before they reach a long-term job.

To begin with, young people need different work experiences to help them figure out a suitable job. As an old saying goes “Interest is the best teacher.” Isolated in their ivory towers, students, even some senior students who face graduation soon, have no idea about the real world and what job they are interested in. Young people are motivated to do well only when they show great interest in that specific field. Imagine that they get a job they do not like. In that case, they may show poor performance, which works against their self-efficacy. Therefore, there is no more efficient approach to finding a fit long-term career than experiencing different types of work. These experiences can provide them with a comprehensive and objective understanding of the employment market and finally enable them to make a rational career decision.

Moreover, young people can learn a lot from different job experiences. A stable long-term job means young people only get in touch with their coworkers and surrounding people, which is boring and never thought-provoking. In contrast, taking different jobs can provide young people an excellent opportunity to mingle with more talented people. They can get to know people with various personalities and people from different backgrounds; making friends with them is refreshing and exciting, which also can expand their social circle. And all of these expand their knowledge and broaden their horizon

In a nutshell, it is undoubtedly a wiser choice to take several different types of jobs before they decide on a long-term career for the reasons discussed above.