Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful leaders should make others part of the decision-making process.

In today’s hectic life, vast lifestyle changes have made individuals ask leaders for advice to make wise decisions and be successful in life. The majority of people think that a leader had better take advice from group members in order to consider all the options for his final choice. Contrary to popular belief, I possess the conviction that a sophisticated guide must ignore others’ advice. In what follows, I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my perspective.

First and foremost, a leader is major responsible for the prospective outcomes; hence should be both meticulous and decisive in his decision-making. Otherwise, others’ opinions may change his mind, and lead to erroneous conclusions; eventually, if anything bad happens, all will hold him accountable. As a case in point, when I was an adolescent, my close friends and I were going to take a several-day trip to the surrounding countryside. It was such an arduous program that we had to hire a mountain guide who was unfortunately inexperienced. All the time, some of my friends were suggesting where to go, and the guide was taking their advice without any further consideration. Only after a few hours, the mountain guide voiced his doubt and uttered we were lost. While we had got increasingly anxious and visibly disappointed, fortunately, we found the right track. As I was able to predict, none of them took the burden of that failure. Had the leader ignored others’ suggestions, we would not have been involved in such a formidable plight.

The other point worth mentioning is that the leader is expert in his province, whereas people have neither awareness nor background in that area. There are some arguing that all group members should declare their standpoints because the more opinions, the better decision. Nevertheless, I find this idea absolutely absurd since only an expert could weigh the possible results, and consequently, make tough decisions in different situations. By way of illustration, it is crystal clear that a teacher cannot ask the students to figure out what the best method of teaching is, because the teacher is the one who has been educated in that major. This example reveals why a leader should only rely on his experiences for making decisions.

In conclusion, it is crucial that a skillful leader adopt all of decisions, not only because of admitting the responsibility of the probable outcomes but also for his profound knowledge and worthwhile experiences in that specific field.