Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today are less dependent on their parents than in the past.

By and large, It is established beyond doubt that fast-growing technology has led to rapid lifestyle changes all over the world. One of these changes includes the relationship between individuals and their immediate family members. The majority of people think that today’s youth are more dependent on the elderly compared to the past. Contrary to popular belief, I possess the conviction that young people are more independent of their parents nowadays. In what follows, I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my perspective.

First and foremost, the advent of technology and the expansion of human communication caused individuals to become more independent. It is crystal clear that, in this era, people have more access to various resources of information; thereby, they can do comprehensive research, and consequently, make wise decisions when they encounter a serious dilemma. As a case in point, when I was going to apply for an accredited university and choose a major, I got increasingly anxious and visibly disappointed at first. Being inexperienced in such fields, my parents were not able to help me work out this crucial issue. Nevertheless, I went to the university and asked some senior students and professors for advice regarding my prospective major. Then, I searched on the Internet about prosperous individuals in my intended field, and accordingly, selected my study field, and sent in my application to the university with high confidence. Had I not exploited these vast facilities, I would have trusted my parents, who might have even led me to erroneous conclusions.

The other point worth mentioning is that, in the past, living in close-knit families helped individuals to be more in touch with their family members. As a result, the actions and decisions of each member directly affected the others. Furthermore, all used to obey common misconceptions in society. By way of illustration, my grandfather pursued his father’s career as a farmer, without regard to his own passion. Therefore, he lived all his life in a rural area with his parents, which prompted them to stay on good terms with each other. Moreover, he was not allowed to pick his wife since it was the parents’ responsibility to find spouse for their kids. This example reveals how much the youth relied on their parents for the decision-making process back then.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that contemporary juveniles have high self-esteem in comparison to the past, not only because of taking advantage of technology and accessing social media but also for overcoming ancient mistake traditions.