Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Television advertising directed toward young children(aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Television is an important source of entertainment and information for people of all ages. Personally, I firmly believe that advertisements on television should not be targeted towards children under five. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children under five may not be able to decide if the product in the advertisements are beneficial to them or not. They cannot fully comprehend what the purposes and functions of the products in the ads. Therefore, they cannot judge the positive and negative aspects of the item. One of my experiences clearly illustrates this point. Once while watching the news channel, one of younger cousins was confused about a wine commercial. He questioned why he could not drink the beverage if it were “good”. Even though this advertisement was not targeted solely towards children, this example still demonstrates that young children cannot understand the advertisements. Consequently, TV ads should not be directed towards the young.

Furthermore, toddlers are have not matured enough to understand the concept of money. Children need to learn that money does not come by easily. While ads show them various toys and products, these commercial also shower them with consumerism beliefs. My friend’s younger sibling grew up watching commercials on television, and found the toys shown deeply interested him. As my friend’s family is well-off, her parents did not refuse to purchase the toys when he asked. However, he soon believed that if he did not own the latest or newest products, he would be deemed “unpopular” by his peers. This suggests that children may be susceptible to the ads and may not have the correct habits on money in the long term.

In conclusion, due to children under five not having the ability to comprehend the ads and them not understand the concept of money, I believe it is inappropriate for television advertisements to be targeted towards children.