Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today's world, it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a quote saying " We earn safety when we work deliberately while we get regrets when we hurry up". For me , I disagree with those people that prefer to finish their tasks quickly regardless to the accuracy. Instead, I believe that working thoroughly pays off.

First, when we do the work slowly, the chance of success is higher than working rapidly. From my personal experience, I can tell that contemplating in what we do in work or at school, allows us to succeed with the lowest risk. When I was in the first year at university, I used to answer the exams question rapidly, racing with the time to finish before the time runs off. As a result, I used to get low scores although I have been studying my lessons diligently. However, when I started to concentrate and think profoundly how to answer the question, I got high scores for the rest of the years and I graduated with excellence with honour. Although working slowly is better, some jobs are inherently risky and need to think and make decisions rapidly like business career.

Second, although working quickly can save time which is precious and can not be returned, too much time will be consumed to repeat all the work and correct the resulted mistakes. For instance, during the high school, my teacher asked us to write an essay about a phenomenon called surface tension. As usual, I started writing it quickly without previous preparation or determination of the items I have to mention, so my teacher found many mistakes in the grammer and also in the outline of the essay. He told me that my essay lacked the coherence between its paragraphs. Because of that, I had to review the article again and resubmit it which was a time waste, however, I learned too much from that situation.

Lastly, the treasure is in the journey itself not in the target. While achieving our objectives is important, enjoying the tasks and learning from them are of a paramount importance too. For example, when we reach our goals, we feel happiness at that time, but after that we miss the work and the accompanying exhaustion and search for other tasks to do.

In the summary, working slowly is more important than working quickly to avoid risks, mistakes and time waste.