Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In today’s world it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern world, efficiency is important and workers should notice that wasting valuable time and money of the company isn't correct. In my opinion, everyone should try to do their job faster, although it means they can make more mistakes. I will explain why I feel this way in the following essay.

To begin with, time is a valuable asset that should be appreciated. Usually, when big companies are working on group projects, they are obligated to meet a deadline. Therefore, every employee should work quickly to meet that deadline. My personal experience is an indication of this. While I was working on my Master’s thesis, I was accompanied by another student to develop a code for the simulation of some big data. We had limited time to come up with an acceptable result which forced us to work notably faster. Consequently, there were some flaws in our work that needed some more time to review but we managed to come up with an answer that was satisfactory.

Furthermore, rushing to finish your task can give you the opportunity to make more money. If you could finish the given task to you faster you would stand more chance to land another job that has better pay. For instance, two years ago I was working on two different projects in which one of them was slightly more complicated but had a better bonus. I tried to first work on the easier project in order to put my focus on the next one which needed more dedication. There might have been some mistakes in the first project but the end result wasn't horrible and when I managed to finish it, hereby I had enough time to work on my other project which had a greater expense and was more complicated.

In conclusion, although employees wouldn't produce flawless results while working faster, they could manage to find more chances to make money and finish the task in a reasonable time.