Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue of whether having many different types of tasks to do is more satisfied or doing similar tasks all day long is hot debated one. On one hand, some people may prefer to work different types of tasks at the same time, since they can change the mood. On the other hand, others may prefer to do similar tasks all day long, since it is easier. For me, I believe having many types of tasks to do is more satisfied.

To begin with, it is true that doing different types of tasks at the same time can sometimes be undesirable to workers, since multitasking often causes confusions to them. I believe a lot of people may have same experience as I have. I remember when I just started working as a research assistant, I was completely unfamiliar with my duties. Unfortunately, my boss was a busy scholar so he has many on going projects at that time. Since he could not handle all of them by himself, he would always assign different tasks from different projects. Of course, a fresh assistant like me could not handle those tasks well. As a result, I always got confused which project that I was working on, so I was really frustrated.

However, having different types of tasks to do still has its merit. We all know that if we are doing the same task for the whole day, we would feel tired easily. So multitasking provides us a perfect solution, since we can change our mood through changing the task they we are working on. For example, when I was working as a research assistant, preprocessing the data is the most unattractive task for me. Because I had to stare at those numbers all day, so I always got bored and tired easily. Nevertheless, since I had many tasks to work, every time I felt tired of preprocessing the date, I would switch to other tasks such as coding to change my working mood.

Moreover, multitasking is one of the most important skills for manager. Since the higher position that we are, the more responsibility that we need to take, managers always have to handle different business at the same time. For instance, the sales manager in my company. Since the sales manager in my company is responsible for most of the business in the company, I often see him dealing with at least three customers at the same time. In contrast, me as a business representative, dealing one customer is challenging enough for me. Thus, to become a manager, I still have a lot to improve.

In conclusion, despite the difficulty of multitasking is much higher than working similar tasks, the benefits that it brings us are much greater than working like a machine.