Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Younger school children (ages five to ten) should be required to study art and music in addition to math, language, science, and history.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Forcing Art Education: Boom or Doom?

In the wake of the Double Reduction Policy, a temporal boom for the art education market is coming. With tutoring of academic subjects such as mathematics and English banned by the authorities, extra-curricular activities of art and music swoop in to fill the vacated after-school time of younger children and perhaps also the vanity of their parents. Some people, deceived by the presumably short-lived surge of art zeal, begin to advocate the necessity to treat art and music education as compulsory subjects. However, such an ill-considered move to revolutionize the current education system may do more harm than good.

Clearly, forcing younger school children to study art and music is unwise, because it will break the fragile equity of current education system, which is based mostly on students’ performance on academic subjects that require more diligence than talent or intelligence. Whether it is math, science or a second language, an average elementary student could achieve a desirable grade through hard-working. Admit it or not, there is no need to have an Einstein’s brain to solve a 2nd grade math problem or tell the difference between past tense and present tense. But art education is totally another story, in which students would not only put a lot more effort in practice certain artistic skills but also need a gifted mind. A system that emphasizes on congenital attributes rather than postnatal industry is nothing but medieval and inhumane as it would strike a heavy blow to those who cannot afford the exorbitant tutelage of a professional pianist or painter.

Another fact to wake up those delusional opportunists is that although the new policy seems to wear the mask of reducing the burden of students, it shows no intention to promote art education. If the authorities truly wanted this, they would go further to include art and music into Gaokao, China’s National College Entrance Examination, because they know that no sane parent would invest the child into something that has no ultimate reward. Sadly, the government didn’t do that. Moreover, artists and musicians are awesome, but too many of them are not. An educated workforce keeps a society functional, not untalented artists. And the basic purpose of our modern education system, if not any, is to train productive citizens who can deliver packages, build infrastructures, manufacture cars, etc. If art education were to have the same place as other subjects, who should be responsible for a painter that finds out that he has no gift and no one appreciates his works?

To conclude, it would just be senseless to reshape the system into a gamble for which it would be the ordinary people who pay the price, and also into something that is both unrealistic and unproductive for the society. Nevertheless, the intention here is not to debase the significance of art education or to deny what it deserves. Contrarily, art and music are exactly what we need in a nation with no aesthetic sense, but unfortunately they are not for everyone.