Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every country, no matter when established, has its own verbal and written history, and it definitly means a lot for its citizens. Personally, I believe that it is necessary for all people of every nation to learn about their historical events at colleges. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, a big part of our current personal and social manners and beliefs are based on our traditions, and knowing about origins of our traditions seems to be important. Nowadays it is confirmed that what we are, meaning every nation around the world, has been partially resulted from the way our ancients lived and thought. For example, people in my country, Iran, had always been under attack of foreign governments through the history. This issue has made them angry and suspicious about foreigners and to see them, even in situation of peace, as a potential enemy.

Secondly, history tells us what did people before us do and what dire consequences or fortunate outcomes did they measure have. As a result, wise persons would avoid doing the same actions ancient did and make them defeated, so history helps people triumph over obstacles and achieve success. In fact, it could be surmised that in the absence of history, humanbeing almost could have no progress in any field of science, technology, politics and so on. So teaching these precious lessons is better to put in all universities schedule to prepare students, as the elite of society members, to help them make appropriate decision in the future.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that history courses should be taken by students in every universities. This is because it illustrates the traditions which are the basis of our social ethics and behaviours, and because it gives us a huge data-base about the ways ancients lived and worked, which informs us about possible consequences of our personal and social activities and lifestyle.