Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

While in the past people used to choose and buy music albums and published books from stores, nowadays these things could be easily downloaded from the internet for free. Although this progress has some privileges, I believe that disadvantages outweigh advantages.

One of the benefits of the access to books and songs being eased is that today almost every kind of people are able to listen and read those special arts. In past, people had to spend money and purchase artworks they like, whereas today individuals with lower incomes can equally access to them, which is more fair. Likewise, singers and writers can simply deliver their works to people who are interested. Former writers and musicians, however, had to pass a great deal of difficulties to deliver their products to firms and companies which sponsored artists and decided what product has the capability of being published.

On the other hand, this comfortable process of publishing created works causes so many persons to think that they can be known as an artist as well. When a great number of individuals are uploading their works in social medias and websites so easy, others would be encouraged to try singing a song, or writing books, especially poems and minimal stories. As a result, today numerous tracks and e-books are on the internet, and most of them are horrific and superficial. In addition, the circumstances are becoming more and more complicated for real artists whose profession is singing or writing and want to make money of their efforts, since people are unwilling to pay for items when there are free ones.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that enhanced technology of downloading books and tracks without any payment is harmful, despite of the its advantages. This is because it makes finding an admirable and artful work hard due to redundant shallow productions available, and also prevents professional composers, singers, poets and writers from generating much money from their career.