Do you agree or disagree the following statement:

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young poeple are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

No matter in the past or in today's society, it is very common for young people to seek advice about their lives from the elder generation. However, I think young people in the past are much more reliant on their parents than their peers in today's society, sepecially in my country. They tent to follow their parents instructions about what to do, who to marry with and try their best to live up to their parents' expectation. Although "too mach" is here is so vague that we can hardly proviede a precise definition, I think if a young man is dependent on his parents to help him make decisions about his occupation and marriage, he depends on them to much. This phenomenon is very common for young people in the past. While in contrast, we can hardly observe this in today's society.

In ancient China, young people did not choose their own wives or husbands. When they are teenagers, young people have little chance to get close to the other gender. A boy was tought that what matters was to honer the whole family and his ancestors instead of persuing the love of a girl. While for a girl, the biggest vietue is to be reserved and never show up in front the public. Then at a proper age, it is the parents who decide their spouses from another family which is equivalent to them in fortune, social status and so forth. Those young people tend to follow their parents’ decisions with no complaint. In contrast, this kind of marriage is rare in today’s China. Nowadays, young people can freely fall in love with someone with same interest, attitudes towards life or so on. When they decide to get married, it is out of their own choice instead of the parents’ decision.

In addition to marriage, young people in ancient time can not freely choose their career either. Cases were usually like this, either the young man inherit his father’s occupation or pass the national test held by the government to become an administrative officer. If the family can afford the cost of education, the young man will be sent to a school with the expectation that he may become a government officer to honor the whole family. Otherwise, he may have to inherit his father’s occupation to become a farmer, a shoemaker, a businessman, etc. Young people tend to accept their parents’ decision in choosing their career. While things are totally different nowadays. Before entering a university, young people can choose their own major based on their own interest and talent to make preliminary preparation for their future career. Parents’ decisions may have influence in their choices but are not decisive any more.

For those contrasts, I think we can reasonably conclude that today’s young people are much less reliant on parents then their peers in the past.