Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smartphone, video games, for fun and entertainment; Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for the children's development.

The proliferation of modern technology has made children increasingly prefer playing electronic devices like laptops and iPhones than playing outside with friends. However, if we consider the negative effects that spending excessive time on connected electronic devices can cause, playing plastic and wooden toys and simple games with their friends should be a better choice for children.

In childhood, playing toys and games with friends fosters team spirit, which plays a crucial role in careers. Children who play basketball together are able to learn how to cooperate with teammates to achieve a common goal. The ability to cooperate with others is exceptionally important for adults. Jack Ma, the founder of Alibaba and one of the wealthiest people in the world, created his company with 500,000 RMB raised by his close friends, some of whom worked together with Ma and became members of the management team of Alibaba. If Jack Ma played World of Warcraft from sunrise to sunset in his room and gained no team-working experiences when he was a child, would it still be possible for him to achieve such success?

Moreover, playing outside helps children keep a healthy lifestyle. Usually, outdoor games involve intensive body movements such as running and jumping. Children can build their body and enjoy the fresh air in these activities. On the contrary, spending time on electronic devices brings only negative ones. The radiation of screens can hurt children’s eyes and the incorrect body position can twist children’s backbones with constant strong pressure. Therefore, playing outside is obviously better than playing videos games and smartphones for children’s health.

At last, playing simple toys and games helps save a huge amount of money, which can then be used for children’s college study. Even though the technology is advanced nowadays, state-of-the-art electronic devices like the newest iPhone and Xbox are still relatively expensive for most families. Those families with children who prefer playing outside may save $10,000 or more by cutting the budget of buying newly released smartphones and computers. Consequently, they will have sufficient funds to support children’s college study in the future.

Just as what is demonstrated above, there are numerous reasons to let children play outside with friends rather than play video games in front of screens. If every parent could offer his or her children the opportunity to play freely and joyfully with their friends outside, our society will definitely benefit.