Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

With the development of technology and the growth of economy, education, especially primary education has been made available for most people in the world. However, the debate on what the ultimate goal of education is has never stopped. Though some people argue that the point of education is to offer people the ability to educate themselves, which is crucial in people's career development, I hold the view that there are other goals of education, like to teach people how to maintain relationships with others and to inspire people to explore the realm of Science, are of the similar importance as the ability to educate themselves is.

Admittedly, one of the most important purpose is to enable people to educate themselves, and in other words, to learn by themselves. It is because the ability of self-learning renders people outstanding. In the era of information explosion, new knowledge is created and circulated every minute. Therefore, only those who learn by themselves everyday can keep up with the pace of the fast-changing world. Jack Ma, for example, created the Alibaba, a giant company of e-commerce with his self-learning skills. In the beginning of 1990s, almost no one really knew where would the Internet lead the realm of business to except Jack Ma. He keenly noticed the potential of the Internet in facilitating daily transactions. Hence, he started to learn every aspect of the Internet without any teachers but just himself. Finally, he founded Alibaba with the knowledge he learned by himself, made Alibaba survived in the fierce competition in China with his knowledge, and became one of the wealthiest people in the world. The ability to educate themselves helps people follow the trend and spot opportunities and hence it is a crucial goal of education.

Even though to equip people with the ability of self-learning makes people successful, the importance of it doesn't make it the most important goal of education. Another goal of education is to inspire people to explore the realm of Science. John Nash, who created the Game Theory and eventually changed the realm of Economics, became interested in Mathematics in his childhood. He was then sent to elite middle school where he received education of high quality that inspired him to explore the world of numbers and formulas. After graduation from Princeton University, he spent days and nights on his work when the only thing which supported him was his passion for Math. Finally, he published his work about the Game Theory and was granted with the laureate of Nobel Price of Economics. If he didn't receive the education that inspire and encourage him to chase his dream in the realm of math, would it still be possible for him to achieve great success in his desired field?

Needless to say, it is an important goal of education to teach people how to learn by themselves. However, there are a lot of goals of education, like to inspire people to devote themselves to science, and clearly the previous one is not the most important one.