Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often considered as a bad quality for a person. However, some people think that it is a good quality for a person.

When facing an important decision like choosing which university he or she should go to and who he or she should marry, people react differently. Some people argue that it is better to take considerable time on considering such decisions while others disagree. From my point of view, spending time on deciding crucial things unarguably worth it because it helps people optimize interests and renders them reliable.

It is always wise to gather enough information before making any decisions. As more information is collected, the potential consequences that decisions may lead to become clearer. Jack Ma, the founder of Alibaba and one of the wealthiest people in the world, had conducted thorough analysis on the retailing business and even gone to the U.S. to look for insights in e-commerce before he devoted himself to Alibaba. If Ma entered the market with no knowledge about the Internet, he wouldn’t survive in the fierce competition in the e-commerce market of China. The quality of gathering information before making decisions makes Ma a successful entrepreneur. Therefore, it is not a waste of time to gather information before making any decisions and those who take relatively long time to analyze a choice of great importance usually make better decisions.

Moreover, spending time on collecting information before making decisions is a prerequisite of an outstanding person since generally speaking, those ones are careful about their choice and therefore not likely be blinded to the most beneficial option by complicated situation and distraction from others. Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursery, had faced a life-changing decision about how to save as many lives as she could in the battlefields of the Crimean War. She could go to the battlefield as a volunteer, raise money for wounded soldiers back in her hometown, or persuade the commanders of the English army to open hospitals that help take care of wounded soldiers. Every choice seemed to be a reasonable one but she hadn’t made her mind immediately based on her instinct until she found the most effective option. She analyzed mountainous archives and identified the major reason for the deaths of soldiers in the Crimean War, which was the serious infections after injury. Hence, she realized that opening hospitals in battlefields is the right choice. Then she devoted herself to the nursery in the battlefields and finally became the founder of modern nursery. If she made decisions without a second thought, would she save countless young lives in wars afterwards and achieve great success?

As the previous discussion has demonstrated, it is a self-evident truth that taking considerable time to decide on life-changing things enables people to make wise decisions and renders people outstanding. Hence, it is definitely an extraordinary quality for a person.