Do you agree or disagree that students do not respect teachers as much as they did in the past?

As the revolutionary idea that students should communicate with their teachers equally becomes increasingly prevalent, some students, especially those in middle school and high school, behave somewhat improperly with the existence of their teachers. However, these behaviors cannot be taken as disrespect and students, in fact, show respect to professors as much as they showed in the past.

It is common nowadays that a small group of junior students misbehave in class and seem to show limited respect to their teachers. Some students may put their foot on the table, call their teachers by first names, and argue with teachers on class topics. These behaviors may seem to be presumptuous or rude to some people but are actually the signs of their independence and self-identity. If a student only knows to memorize knowledge taught by teachers for the memorizing’s own sake and treat teachers as gods, is he or she able to argue with teachers on whether it is possible to travel through black holes? Therefore, we cannot infer that students do not respect their teachers only from their misconducts.

In fact, people’s respect for teachers, the crucial source of knowledge, has never changed in human history. Giotto, the most important artist in the middle ages and renowned for his revolutionary paintings that show the human side of holy figures, was born in a remote mountainous village in Italy. Despite the amazing gifts in painting, Giotto had had no chance of becoming a successful artist until Cimabue, his teacher, found him drawing vivid and realistic images of sheep on rocks when he was grazing and asked him to be his apprentice. It was Giotto’s teacher who made Giotto a great artist who helped begin the Renaissance. Giotto treated his teacher with full respect until the last moment of his life. Just as Giotto is grateful to his teacher Cimabue, Jack Ma, the co-founder of Alibaba and one of the wealthiest entrepreneur, feels thankful to his teacher in Hangzhou Normal University because of the inspirations of the Internet offered. Jack Ma highly respect his teachers and even donated 100 billion RMB to the university he graduated from.

As indicated in the previous discussion, it is not only an individual action but also a societal tradition that students respect their teachers sincerely. Though the societal structure has changed tremendously in the past hundreds or even thousands of years, the level of respect students show to their teachers is always the same.