Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people believe that television advertising directed towards the young children should be allowed. For me, although there are many benefits for not allowing such advertisement; there are many cases in which its good to allow. In this essay, i'll address some problems associated with denial of such permission.

First of all, the products advertised on television can help to increase children's creativity. I have witnessed it in my personal life. My 4 years old niece was watching television where found a drawing book. Afterwards, she asked my sisters to buy one for her. When my sister brought that to home, i was surprised to see different levels of drawing in one book. For the first level it required just colour filling and at top level, the children had to imitate a given model. As a result of completing that drawing book, my niece has improved her modeling skills in very early age. Therefore, we can see how an advertisement can improve children's intellectual power.

Secondly, participation of other children in television advertisements can improve lifestyle of children. Few examples to consider are ways of dressing and speaking. When i was a child, I had observed my friends improving their physical appearance by observing other children in advertisements. At that time, a child named John was shown on television for advertisement of an ice cream. The child used to wear a leather jacket in that ad. When my friend observed him, he bought one for himself and it did suite on him quite well. Additionally, he learned some English words from those ads. Consequently, such advertisements improved his daily lifestyle.

What is half full to some may appeal half empty to others. Similarly, many people may feel that TV advertisements may make some children obstinate for getting things right away. But this does not appeal to me because people (and hence the children) learn from their own mistakes. At one time, if a child gets some product and later on they don't like it, they can easily exclude such items from their choice. It have seen such behavior in my nephew. He purchased a video game after watching an advertisement on TV. Later on, he came to know that the game had not that much features as advertised. Therefore, now he asks others as well before buying something.

Putting all my discussion together lead me to believe that TV ads for young children should be permitted. As i have mentioned my analysis that it can improve their creativity, lifestyle and decision-making power.