Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Is keeping relations ship with old friend make us happier? or finding new friends make us less happy?... In my point of view this statement is fundamentally incorrect; maintaining old small group of friends makes us happier than the finding new ones; although some of the people says that because we know each other better, we can feel safe behind which is the key point of the being happy, I have different idea and I think that our friend group have few influences on our feeling. I want to reinforce my opinion from the following aspects.

The chief reasons why I generally disagree with the statement is that because our situations are changed during our life period, we need to change our friends. For example, we have a small group of friends in the school, but we get aware from each other when we go the university. All of us find new friends and spends lots of our time with them vividly for exchanging idea and practicing and improving our grads we have to meet and spend most of our spare time with them.

The latter reason why I generally disagree with the statement is that the main idea of the friend. We get friend with each other since we have any thing in common with them. Therefore, I think if we have lots of interests, it will be so natural to us to join in different groups of friends. For example, I have a small group of friends from my music class, other from university and other from cooking class. I cannot speak a lot about the cooking recipe with my friend in music class so on and so on. I feel happy when I have lots of friend with different idea and major. Moreover, it helps me to broad my view.

Last but not the least, having lots of friends gives us the opportunity to get help from them when we need. For example, two years ago, I need one place to go to my internship most of my friends say about the available positions on their work and I can easily discuss with the about the advantages and disadvantages of the positions, so I have a broad view when I chose my internship place.

In sum, with the passing day, we see ourselves in a different situation and should adapt themselves by finding new friends and relationships. Admittedly, if we find a good friend which can easy talk with about everything and keep our relation for a long time is good, but I don't think it bring happiness to us. Therefore, based on the reasons I mentioned above I partially disagree with the statement. I accept the first part, but the second part is not convincing.