do you agree or disagree with the statement: students should be required to study basic science to graduate.

This is a common thing that many universities have been requiring students to take some basic science courses, even though these basic science courses totally do not have any relation with students’ major. In this case, should universities command students to take these courses? In my opinion, students should not be required by universities to take these basic courses which are unrelated to their majors.

First of all, requiring students to take these basic science courses might lead these universities to lose a lot of applicants. This is because fewer students will avoid these schools when they are applying to universities. According to research, shows that most students who plan to study art in universities usually are pretty poor in science courses, such as, chemistry, biology. Therefore, most of them express that they are extremely afraid of failing in the science courses in the universities, so they will search for information on the internet or ask seniors of some universities before they apply to schools, if they get the information that this college or that college needs them to take science courses to graduate, they will avoid this kind of school when they are applying. From this research, it is obvious that requiring students to take science courses will lose a lot of students.

Secondly, hardly do students who study in other majors get benefits from taking basic science courses. As my uncle experience as an example, my uncle used to study management in Zhengzhou University several years ago. However, the graduation requirements showed him that he needed to study 12 credits of basic science courses before he graduated. In this case, he had to take several biology courses and physics courses before he graduated. However, today my uncle is a manager in a local hotel, so he claimed that it is true that he might use massive knowledge from management courses, he never used knowledge from these science courses, such as gas law, force law for his work. From my uncle's experience, this is easy to know that requiring students who study different majors with science will help them nothing.

In conclusion, not only requiring students to take science courses will lead schools to lose a lot of students, but also will provide nothing benefits for students after they graduate.