Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

time changes and as it evolves people evolve too. There might be an entire different reason why young people depend on their parents to make decisions for them. Lets take an example as a kid i was very stubborn, and most of the time i was allowed to take decision on my own, so obviously i wanted to do things my way so when it came to select a college for me, i wanted to go to the college where all my friends where going and my parents where against it as the college was not so reputed and they wanted me to study in a better college i fought with them regarding it but they told me if i wanted to be a computer graduate they would choose the college for me so i had to agree reluctantly but that was one of the best decisions in my life. initially i might have missed my friends but i got to learn so many things which my friends failed to do and later i scored better than any of them.

Its not necessary to make your own decisions every time, one can make their own decisions after discussing with the parents because they are much more experienced and have known life better than the youngsters. if they do not agree one can still try to make them understands our interests. Today making every decision on your might not secure your future, if you take a wrong step you might suffer for life be it making wrong friends or doing drugs or staying away just for the sake of freedom. making decisions when you talk might help a lot more than making a decision independently as we get to know the pro's and cons of it. And the effects of our decisions be it a good or bad.