Do you agree or disagree These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in school related activities or sports However they should be given more time to do whatever they want

Undeniably, the burden on children’s shoulders has been much heavier these days, since they have to spend a large amount of time on studying and other school activities. Led by this fact, some credulous people generate the opinion that children should be given more free time to do what they are interested in. However, before reaching a conclusion, a conscientious examination should be conducted. When it comes to their future development, the two most crucial tasks for children are acquiring knowledge and developing social relationships, and thus I firmly hold the view that children should spend most of their time studying and participating in school activities.

First and foremost, it is worthwhile to spend as much time as possible on studies, which is beneficial to children’s future academic and professional development. Having a successful life nowadays, like being a leader in a field and having a good reputation, depends much on attending a good university or even high school, and to achieve this requires excellent grades in school. For children, what they can do to entrench the foundation of their future life is to spend as much time as they can on study. Meanwhile, most jobs today require people to have professional skills since, due to the development of artificial intelligence, many repetitive tasks have been replaced by robots. Therefore, if a person does not want to be left behind by society, copious knowledge is obligatory.

Second, being involved in diverse activities is also indispensable because children can increase their social connections through them. When I was twelve, one of the normal millions of middle school students in China, I spent most of my time on various activities after school, such as basketball teams, volunteer work, and company tours. Children on the same team not only participated in basketball games together, but some of them also became my best friends. They drove off my loneliness and kept me company during my childhood. Even today, we always hang out and take trips together. Therefore, humans are gregarious animals, and children need to spend energy on various activities.

A voice arises that having little free time would make children stressful, and even lead to serious mental health problems. Ironically, if children have more time to do whatever they want, they are more likely to encounter sick situations. Most children have poor self-control. They have a great chance to form many negative habits, like being addicted to electronic devices and computer games. Having more free time would make this problem worse. In contrast, if children can schedule study and school activities properly, they can absolutely maintain a healthy mental condition. Learning new theories in class helps them gain a sense of achievement, and when they are tired, they can take part in colorful activities, enlarging their circles of friends and destressing themselves in sports.