Some charitable organizations allow people who give money to charity to choose how their donation will be used If you were give money to charity would you prefer to choose how your donation is going to be used or do you think it is more effective to leave

It is hard to disavow that if people could decide how their money could be used when they make donations, they are more likely to trust charitable organizations that their money would be used in proper ways. Some credulous people thus generate the opinion that donors should choose how their donations are going to be used. However, before reaching a conclusion, a conscientious examination must be conducted. Considering efficiency, feasibility, and governmental regulation, I strongly hold the view that to make charity more effective, donors should leave such a decision to the organization.

First and foremost, decisions made by charitable organizations are more efficient since philanthropy is a complex work, and division of labor and cooperation will make it more efficient. Charitable organizations and donors should play different roles in this significant task. Organizations are more professional when it comes to managing funds and evaluating beneficiaries, and they can focus on the big picture. Meanwhile, donors are the source of funds, and their task is to provide extra money to professional people for wealth redistribution. If donors do not trust the operation of organizations, they might negatively influence the outcome of the charity, by selecting recipients based on their experience while neglecting those most in need.

Second, most charitable endeavors are impractical if every donor may choose how their money is spent. I formerly worked for a state charitable organization, one of more than fifty of its kind in the entire nation, as an example. We provided donors with many options to decide how their money can be used. However, the result discouraged us because most people chose to spend their money on a few well-known fields, such as redressing the homeless, support for the unemployed and construction of schools. Most other options received only hundreds of dollars that was insufficient to make an impact, like saving an endangered and unknown species. Such a result makes it difficult for charitable organizations to continue most of the projects. Therefore, partial and conformist decisions from donors would make philanthropy infeasible.

A voice arises that if donors could not select how their money would be used, they would not trust charitable organizations to use their donations properly. Ironically, this concern is totally unnecessary due to the regulations and provisions from the government. Actually, every month a team of administrators from the state government audits accounts of every charitable organization thoroughly, and every organization has its website on which how much money it has received, how much it has spent and how it has been spent are illustrated lucidly. Donors should thus trust these organizations with their money while also making donations to them.

In conclusion, I firmly hold that there is no need for donors to choose how their money will be used, especially when it comes to efficiency, feasibility, and regulation from the government. I believe everyone who has read my article will agree with me.