Do you agree with the statement that teachers have had more value in the past than today

There is a saying which states" stand up, and salute the teacher because a teacher is almost a profit" These words mean a lot to somebody who raised a many generations. However, these days , we don;t here much about the respect to teacher. In my opinion, teachers lost so much of their value to day and that is because of the reasons that I am going to highlight in my essay.

First, teachers now a days are paid relatively less than they use to earn. A decent income would allow teachers to be valued and respected. In the past, the teaching jobs were one of the highest paid jobs in the community. However, now a day, teachers have more hardships and sometimes they can barely pay there rent. For instance, two months ago, there was an article in the news about a teachers who is unable to find a home to rent in the city of San Francisco. The Mayer new about this incident ans promised to build more houses for teachers to offer them a better quality of life.

Moreover, teachers have less authorization to decide whether a student should pass or fail. In past teachers were granted full authority to evaluate students and make them move forward to the next stage or decide that they are not qualified to pass. However, now a day more regulations are in place to withhold teachers from taking decisions solely on personal judgment. Therefore, they are no more the stake holder to decide whether a child should pass or fail. Not having this critical judgment has devalued the teachers.

Finally, technology has changed the way of learning now a days. In the past students were attending classes and interacting more with teachers. On the other hand, today, there many course where student can join online. Having these type of courses reduces the communication level between the students and the teachers, even sometimes students do not need to see teachers face-to-face. As result, this new trend of teaching has devalued the role of the teachers as a corner -stone person in the educational process.

In conclusion, the teaching process is as any other profession, do change with the change in environmental factors. Technology has changed the way teachers interact with there students. Furthermore, the economical situation also has put it's shadow on the value of teachers.