Factors influencing making major purchase

Currently, society has witnessed an unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, therefore we citizens are offered with multiple choices and have the increasing purchasing power to make a bunch of major purchases. However, when it comes to deciding the item we want to buy, we are interrupted with varieties of information, like recommendations from friends, the information from media or suggestions from a salesperson in the store. Personally speaking, when I am making the decision to purchase major affairs, I prefer to take recommendations from friends into my consideration and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, the information from friends or colleagues are more trustworthy. When we are seeking information about these products, they tend to reach out their hands and tell us their true feeling of utilizing these merchandises, like the products’ quality, cost or some other specific details which we usually ignore. Therefore, we are equipped with a large amount of information to make a diligent decision. In contrast, provided that we amass information from the salesperson in the store, due to their characters, what they tell us are all products’ perks, instead of telling us both the pros and cons to help us make an all-round evaluation, which apparently prevents us from evaluating the comprehensive quality of these products. The research conducted to evaluate individuals’ satisfaction of their purchases demonstrates that the citizens making their decisions based on the information offered by their friends or colleagues are more pleased with what they purchased. Conversely, other individuals persuaded by the salesman to buy specific products end up regretting. This research illuminates that making decisions based on the information rendered by familiar persons provides us with more satisfying experience in purchasing.

What’s more, the information offered by friends is much more detailed. To be more specific, since friends and colleagues are familiar with our characteristics and habits, they are capable of rendering some information in accordance with those properties, which is of crucial significance. Compared to it, the information from the media is geared toward all the readers, hence, this information is likely to inapplicable for us. For instance, I used to make my major purchase decisions according to the information I had amassed from magazines, however, I eventually found that those products not only failed to accommodate my needs but also wasted me a lot of money. After realizing the reality, I tend to ask my friends for help in regard of purchasing major merchandises, which absolutely elevates my satisfaction of what I purchase and enables me to reckon that what I buy is a money well spent.

Admittedly, collecting information from different sources has its perks, for instance, we can have a comprehensive understanding of the quality of the products by reading the information displayed on TV or other media. Nevertheless, since all of these pieces of information origin from some individuals unfamiliar with us, what they suggest is not worthy of trust.

In a nutshell, from what has been discussed above, obtaining some information or recommendation from friends or colleagues is the optimal approach to decide which major products we ought to purchase, which prevents us from having unfavorable purchasing experience.