Government should not provide financial support to artists (For example, painters, writer, musicians …), and the government should let them support themselves.

Arts play a significant role in our society: Appreciating artifacts can cultivate masses’ aesthetic value and serves as an entertainment way for public to escape from the hustle and bustle of their busy life; Also, arts can also furnish an opportunity for people to get insight into different cultures and what happened in a specific period. From my perspective, artists should be offered grants from government.

First, art is a part of people’s life and support is highly needed for artists. As a matter of fact, the subjects matter of arts include people or animals living in different periods; spiritual values are also encompassed in the artifacts, like the rejection to the fusty traditions and antiquated criteria, desire for exploring unknown things, and so on. Thus, appreciating those arts can really help common people to get insight into different cultures and humanity in depth. However, most of artists can not support their creations since in order to create a artifact, they have to purchase expensive materials, like impasto and bright pigments in sculptures, flat canvas and paintbrush in paintings, etc. Meanwhile, they will travel to different places to search for inspirations, which takes them almost one year or even longer. In this case, they might not be able to get paid from patrons without finishing their works, making it harder for them to create artistically. But if government can offer grants for them, artists are allowed to satisfy their needs for creations and develop well-finished artifacts that can broaden public’s horizon.

Second, arts can make a city or country more attractive, promoting the commercial activities and the tourism industry. In fact, the government can be the patrons of the arts, hiring artists to design the buildings, create some sculptures and paintings and so on. The cities featuring those artistic elements can be more attracting. What’s more, artifacts can be placed in the main part of the cities, like the massive statue of a celebrity and the sculptures of some political leaders, attracting more and more tourists to pay a visit to the city or country; musicians can hole some concerts in the cities, attracting people who are fond of music to pay for tickets; paintings created by different artists can be displayed in the museum. All those activities can serve as driving factors to promote the development of the tourism and help to earn money for the government.

It is admitted that some may argue that the money gained from taxpayers is wasted in the artists since it fails to offer any convenience or improve the social welfare of their life. However, concerning the social impact and the appealing appearance of a city or country, such investment is actually valued.

In conclusion, government should assume the responsibility of supporting artists.