taking a lot of time to make an important decision is viewed as a bad quality for a person to have. but now it is considered as a good quality

There are several decisions that people are required to make every day, ranging from dealing with trivial things, like what to wear or eat in every morning, to significant affairs, including choosing a job or running a policy. The time spent on making different decisions varies greatly. From my perspective, when it comes to make an important decision, it is a desirable quality that people take a lot of time on it.

As for students, making an significant decision meticulously can ensure a promising future development for them. As a matter of fact, the most importance thing for students is to choose a university or a major, both of which can exert a heavy influence on their future. For one thing, the university they choose can affect the development of their personalities because its professors and students there can help to mold their characters; for another thing, a major they choose would determine what positions they can do in the future. In this case, by taking a meticulous consideration, it enables them to choose a university or major that can best meet their needs and thus to succeed in the future. My personal experience can be a compelling example to shed more light on this. When I was a freshman, the most important thing for me was to choose a major. However, I was unsure and hesitant to choose a major. I took a long time to think what majors could best satisfy my interests and what positions I could fill in with that major. After a long time thinking, I decided computer science as my major because I was interested in designing games and Computer Science could definitely help to design a game more effectively and have a job related with my interest. Had it not been for the long-time consideration about my major, I could never fill in the positions as game designers.

As for workers, taking a lot of time can be beneficial for them since it can help them to have a satisfying life. Indeed, what is of vital importance for workers is to fill in a desirable position. In order to make such a decision, a worker definitely needs to surf the Internet to search for the information about their positions, such as the salary, the location of the company, the content of the daily work, etc. Not until they have a comprehensive understanding about their jobs can they make a huge decision. My friend’s experience can be a compelling example of this. When he graduated from university, he wanted to had a job with high salary while flexible working hours. Hence, he first searched for all the positions that could satisfy his needs in the website. And then, he compared each position’s pros and cons. Eventually, he chose to be a programmer in Google since not only could he get paid well, but also he could work flexibly as long as he could finish the project on time.

In a nutshell, taking a lot of time to make a decision is a good quality for people in different stages.