The government should spend their money on arts rather than on sports.

In the modern society, when more and more people are immersed in the high burden of work, arts and sports serve as a way of relief and restart, playing an exceedingly important role in not only people's life, but overall nation's development as well. Thus, governmental support, especially financial support, is very much essential to the arts and sports industry. While some people maintain investing in sports and athletics would have more profit to the government, in my opinion, it is arts that needs further concern and support from the government.

Needless to say, Olympic teams are the spiritual symbol of a nation that represent the national pride for citizens within the country. While watching football matches, people can be more inspired and united, which internally enhances the sense of belonging in one nation. However, arts can be the stimulator of national pride as well. When a person from one country wins the Nobel Prize for literature, citizens in this country are extremely proud, which could also make the citizens be united. arts and sports all play a crucial role in enhancing the bundling within citizens, but arts could exert many other influences that sports cannot.

Firstly, arts can serve as a way of decorating people's life, as well as to boost the economic growth. As is commonly depicted, many of us use paintings to decorate our homes, use opera shows to decorate our life, and use literature to decorate our mind. Under no circumstances could we underestimate the demand for arts. As arts is crucially needed, the cultural industry could be very prosperous and be one of the most important engine of area's economic growth. As the newly published data from the bureau of statistics in China, the cultural industry contributes 10% of the GDP, while the live show industry serves as one of the fastest growing industry compared to other industries. To give more attention and support in arts would bring out higher satisfaction rate towards life as well as higher economic growth in the long term.

Moreover, to different types of people, arts can take up some social role, serving as a way of education. For the children and youngsters, arts can improve their ability of imagination and help them to learn how to appreciate the beauty of life. As in a social experiment conducted by the sociology professor in Harvard, for schools which lay more emphasis on arts education, students' overall score of language and literature would be significantly higher than students from other schools, which is a sign of the power of arts in education. Besides, for elders, arts can also inspire thoughts in the daily work. For instance, a very famous entrepreneur focusing on the industry of delivery, once reflected on his past experience and pointed out that he would put several beautiful paintings in front of him, and whenever there's a problem, he would turn to these wonderful paintings and gathered inspiration from them. In all, arts can be a great tool of education, and thus should be more carefully supported.

Generally speaking, arts can be a great pressure-reliefer, economic engine and educational tool for the society, and hence we should attach great importance to the power of arts, while government should spend more money in support of the arts.