A high school that normally gives students about two months of time off from school during the summer is introducing a new educational requirement for students in eleventh grade (ages 16-17) over the summer, students have the following two options to fulfill the new requirement.

– They can attend classes each day for several weeks to complete a university level course on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major field of study at university.

– They can spend several weeks traveling to museums and historic places in their area with a group of students guided by a teacher and then write a paper of their experience.

Which one of these options do you think would be most beneficial for students and why?

In my opinion, attending university-level classes that students are considering as their major field of study at university would be a better idea because this course helps them to decrease the risk of making mistake in choosing their future major. Moreover, they will learn about some basic subjects that would help them to start university with power. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, this course helps students to decide on their future field of study with less risk. For sure, the major field of study can affect all aspects of their future life. Thereby, deciding on the major field of study is the main concern of all high school students and their parents. On the other hand, although going to museums and historical sites would be such fun and also it will teach students a lot of things about historical events, it can be scheduled for another time. For example, when I was a high school student, in the last summer before university our school did a similar plan for students. Some students chose to attend the course and others include me chose to visit some top universities in our country. Although it was totally fun and we got familiar with universities, it doesn’t help us in decision making about our major field of study. Indeed, most of us were confused about whether we made the right decision or not. On the contrary, other students who chose to attend the course, hadn’t any problem because the course had helped them to know their major better.

Second, a course that is at a university-level can help students to prepare for the university and the main things they are going to learn. Indeed, such a course that is related to their major field of study leads them to learn some basic information in which other students might not learn before. Thereby, it helps them to start university more powerful rather than other students. For instance, when I started university, I remember that although some information that teachers lectured about was so complicated, some students had no problem with that and participated in discussions actively. After a while, I realized that most of them had attended an elementary course before university that helped them to learn some basic things before coming to university.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that attending a course that is related to the major field of study that you consider to pick would be more helpful for students.