To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors- TPO 29

Universities play a pivotal role in the future of young people. Consequently, they should try to ameliorate the quality of their education. While most people argue that the salaries for the professors should not increase to use these sums of money for improving other parts of the university like libraries and so on, I am of the opinion that universities should spend more money on the university professors' salaries. In the following essay, I will vindicate my stance through two noticeable reasons.

To begin with, increasing the salaries of the professors can be a motivating force for teachers to improve their academic performance. In this regard, the learning efficiency of the students will increase, augmenting the quality of education. For instance, according to the research conducted, a group of professors paid the same salary as before. The other group, however, paid 20 percent more than their salary for about 4 months. The result got the researches with surprise. They realized that professors created techniques to improve their teaching resulting in the unbelievable rise in the students' grades. Therefore, the more motives professors have, the more productive they become, resulting in improvements in the education's quality.

Another equally significant point is that by offering more salaries to professors, universities can attract more skilled professors' attention which in turn, increases the quality of education. Furthermore, the established professors of the universities will become convinced to continue their job in these universities. What my father experienced is a compelling example to clarify this. My father was erudite in the field of biomedical engineering. He worked in the university for several years. However, the salary was so low that he could not meet his families' needs. As a result of this, he abandoned the university, finding a high-earning job in another university. Also, other knowledgeable professors of the university stopped teaching there, facing the university with a low quality of education. Had the university paid its professors more money, it could have enjoyed being among the high-ranking universities due to its high quality of education.

All in all, it is necessary for universities to pay more money for their professors. This is because having a high salary can be an incentive for professors to update their ways of teaching and because in this way, the university can both allure highly educated professors' attraction and retain its skilled professors. This is why I recommend universities spend more money on salaries for university professors.